0
Completed - Resolved

Disappearing map in the map editor

Webbernever1 3 years ago updated 3 years ago 6

Windows 7, 64 Bit Opearing System, 32GB RAM, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ CPU @ 2.70GHz


I was updating a map I made 'Bridge(2)' or 'The Bridge of Doom' and I encountered an error message telling me that I could not publish the map unless I was in 'edit mode'. However, at the time, I was in the map editor. I attempted to save the map and exit. When I tried to find the map again, it had vanished. Older versions were still there, but the newer version (which I had loaded a few times whilst working on it) had disappeared completely. It was neither in the 'load' nor the 'import' folder.


Output log

Game Version:
Steam Public
Platform:
Windows
GOOD, I'M SATISFIED
Satisfaction mark by Webbernever1 3 years ago
Pending Customer

Hi Webbernever1,

It sounds like your map's meta data some how got corrupted which is stopping the game from recognizing it properly. Whilst that is pretty inconvenient, if the map file still exists on your PC, the meta data can usually be repaired.


If I remember correctly, the location of the maps should be something like:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\War For The Overworld\GameData\Maps


Can you take a look and see if you can find the map file (and the similarly named meta data file)


If you manage to find them, attach them to a reply here and i'll ask Nano to try and repair the meta data for you.

Thanks to your help, I was able to access the older version of the map again, both in the editor and in skirmish mode. However, when I attempted to publish the newer version of the map, only the old one displays. I can access the new map locally though. As I understand it, to update a map, I must publish the map under the same name, which I did.

Is that updating it on Steam you're having trouble with?

It appears to have uploaded on to the workshop now. Purely out of interest though, the old version still exists, even though I uploaded it under the same name. Is that meant to happen? Should I now delete the old version?

Completed - Resolved

Yeah, the new map is technically a new file, uploaded as a brand new workshop entry, it just happens to have the same name.

So it is working as intended (and should happen), if you want to delete the old version you should be able to do so without any problems.


I'll mark this ticket as completed, but if you have any more problems with this issue feel free to add another comment or message me via discord. You know where to find me :)

Ah, okay. Thanks for everything. I realised that to update the image, I need to exit the editor and return. Everything seems to be fine now.